What is Promoted Listings Advanced?

Promoted Listings Advanced campaigns give you the high visibility you want and the control you need. Drive traffic to your listings with preferred access to the top slot of search using keyword and budget controls. Advanced campaigns are based on a cost-per-click model, which means that you pay per click on your ads.

Promoted Listings Advanced is available to Above Standard or Top Rated sellers with recent sales history.

Key benefits

1

Get top visibility

Advanced ads will show in the top slot of the search results across all platforms.

2

Enhanced budget controls

Choose how much each click is worth to you and never pay more than the daily budget you set.

3

Strategic keyword selection

Bid on the keywords that matter to you–ones that will help you achieve your goals on eBay.

Getting started

To create a new campaign:

  1. go to Seller Hub
  2. hover over the Marketing Tab
  3. click on Advertising dashboard from the dropdown menu

Once you’ve reached your advertising dashboard, click the Create new campaign button.

You’ll have the option to create a Promoted Listings Standard campaign or a Promoted Listings Advanced campaign. Click the Create campaign button in the Promoted Listings Advanced box.

Best practices

Create strategic ad groups

We recommend building effective ad groups by organizing your listings according to a common goal or category. Grouping together similar listings allows you to target them with the same set of keywords.

Use suggested keywords

Suggested keywords are search terms that we’ve determined are relevant and likely to perform well in your ad group. We evaluate keywords based on how frequently they’ve been used in recent searches and how relevant those searches are to the listings in your ad group. These keyword suggestions are designed to help you target buyers who are actively looking for items like yours. For best results, add at least 10 keywords per unique product type in each ad group.

Bid competitively

To help optimize campaigns, we provide you with suggested bids and bid ranges for all suggested keywords. Because Advanced campaigns are based on a cost-per-click model, you get to choose how much each click is worth to you.

Our suggested bids and bid ranges are based on a number of factors, including past performance and marketplace trends. Using the suggested bids and bid ranges can help take the guesswork out of setting competitive bids.

Continue to optimize your campaigns

Keep an eye on your campaign performance to ensure your ad groups remain effective. Suggested keywords and bids can change over time, so we suggest monitoring your campaign performance and making any needed changes to remain competitive.

Performance and reporting

Advertising dashboard

From your advertising dashboard, you can see a quick overview of how your campaigns are performing. Insights include:

  • Account-level summary of the daily performance of your Advanced campaigns
  • Campaign-level summary of the performance data for all of your Advanced campaigns
Downloadable reports

You also have the ability to download a .csv file of your performance data to help you further analyze your campaigns. Reports include:

  • Listing report: A listing-level view of the performance of each listing in your campaign
  • Keyword report: A keyword-level view of the performance data for each keyword in your campaign
  • Search query report: A report of all the buyer search queries that led to clicks on your Advanced ads for each campaign
  • What is Promoted Listings AdvancedBETA?

    Promoted Listings Advanced is a cost-per-click campaign type that lets sellers drive traffic to their listings with preferred access to the top slot of search using keyword and budget controls.

  • Which sellers are eligible for Promoted Listings Advanced?

    Promoted Listings Advanced is available to Above Standard or Top Rated sellers with recent sales history.

  • Why should I use Promoted Listings Advanced?

    Promoted Listings Advanced gives you the high visibility you want and the control you need to increase sales on eBay.

    Advanced campaigns currently let you bid for the top slot in search with control over your daily budget, keyword selection, and keyword bids.

    For sellers looking to gain more insight into performance metrics, Promoted Listings Advanced also provides listing-level, keyword-level, and search query reports to help you monitor your performance.

  • Which listings are eligible for Promoted Listings Advanced?

    Sellers can promote fixed price listings for most categories except Wholesale & Job Lots, Cars, Motorcycles & Vehicles, Events Tickets, Property, E-Cigarettes, Vapes & Accs and Everything Else categories. Auction and Auction Buy It Now listings are not eligible at this time.

    When you create an Advanced campaign, only listings that are eligible will appear in your selection view.

  • How will I know which of my listings are eligible for Promoted Listings Advanced?

    When you create an Advanced campaign, only listings that are eligible will appear in your selection view.

  • How does Promoted Listings Advanced work?

    Promoted Listings Advanced is a campaign type that lets you drive traffic to your listings with preferred access to the top of search using keyword and budget controls. Advanced campaigns are based on a cost-per-click model where you choose how much you want to spend per day and how much you’re willing to spend on a click on your ad.

  • How is Promoted Listings Advanced different from Promoted Listings Standard?

    Both Promoted Listings campaign types help your items stand out among billions of listings across the eBay network and be seen by millions of active buyers when they’re browsing and searching for what you’re selling, increasing the likelihood of a sale.

    Promoted Listings Standard campaigns let you promote your listings across the eBay network and only pay when you sell. Standard campaigns are quick and simple to set up. Since you only pay when you sell, Standard campaigns are a low-risk way to boost visibility.

    Promoted Listings Advanced campaigns let you promote your listings in the top slot of search results and pay per click on your ad. Advanced campaigns give you the high visibility you want and the control you need with a daily budget, keyword targeting, keyword bidding, and reporting.

  • Where will my ads show?

    Advanced will show in the top slot of eBay search results across all platforms.

  • Will my listings automatically win the top slot in search when I advertise with Promoted Listings Advanced?

    No. Each time a buyer searches for a product, we will determine which listing is shown in the top slot using factors like listing quality, keyword relevance, your bid amount, other sellers’ bids, and a reserve price (the minimum amount we’ve determined a click is worth, taking item quality, competition, seasonality, and marketplace thresholds into consideration).

    Follow these best practices to improve item quality and relevancy:

    • Write a clear and concise title with correct spelling and no more than 80 characters.
    • Add an accurate description, using product details from the eBay catalog wherever you can.
    • Use high-quality photos, taken from every angle, and show any flaws or scratches. You can include up to 12 pictures for free.
    • Add item specifics, such as make, model, size, color, and style.
  • How does eBay decide which listing will appear in the top slot?

    Placement and ranking are influenced by a variety of factors, including your bid, item relevancy, listing quality and a reserve price (the minimum amount we’ve determined a click is worth, taking item quality, competition, seasonality, and marketplace thresholds into consideration). Just having a high bid doesn’t necessarily guarantee you will win top slot placement, as eBay has strong quality and relevancy measures in place to ensure a good buyer experience.

    It’s important that you also optimize your listings for Best Match to increase the likelihood of performing well in Advanced campaigns.

  • When will my Promoted Listings Advanced ad appear?

    Your ad will only appear when:

    • A buyer searches for a keyword that you’re bidding on
    • You win the auction for that keyword

    Simply bidding on a keyword does not guarantee that your listing will appear. To increase the likelihood that your ad will win the auction, we recommend that you promote quality listings and set competitive keyword bids.

  • Can I promote the same listings via Standard and Advanced campaigns?

    Yes. You can promote the same listings through Standard and Advanced campaigns.

    Keep in mind that when you promote your listings through Advanced campaigns, you’re bidding on the top slot in search and paying per click. Standard campaigns have placements across the eBay network and you pay per sale. We recommend that you use both Standard and Advanced campaigns together to maintain coverage.

  • Can a listing that is promoted via Standard and Advanced Campaigns appear in the same search results?

    No. A listing can only appear once in the same set of search results.

    Keep in mind that Standard campaigns have placements across the eBay network, not just in search results.

  • Will there be a difference between how Advanced and Standard ads will look in the top slot in search?

    No, the listings will look the same. Both will have a “Sponsored” badge regardless of the ad campaign they are in.



Campaign management FAQs

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  • How does my daily budget work?

    The daily budget is the maximum amount that you’re willing to spend on a single campaign per day. Some days you may spend less than your daily budget, but you will never be charged more than the amount you choose. Once your campaign has reached its daily budget, your campaign will stop being charged until the next day, when the daily budget resets. Any unused daily budget will not roll over to the next day.

    The daily campaign cost is calculated by multiplying the total number of clicks received per keyword by their respective price.

    • Example: Daily budget NOT reached
      • Daily budget is $500.
      • On a given day, Keyword A (average cost per click of $2.50) receives 100 clicks, and Keyword B ( average cost per click of $2.00) receives 50 clicks, which brings the daily campaign cost to $350. The remaining $150 will not roll over to the next day.
    • Example: Daily budget REACHED
      • Daily budget is $500.
      • On a given day, Keyword A (average cost per click of $2.50) receives 100 clicks, and Keyword B (average cost per click of $2.00) receives 125 clicks, which brings the daily campaign cost to $500. Since the daily budget has been reached, your ads will stop serving and your campaign will resume the next day.

    Note: Updates to your daily budget are made in real time. If you update your daily budget below what has already been spent, your ads will stop serving and your new daily budget will go into effect the next day.

  • How soon will changes to my daily budget take effect?

    Updates to your daily budget are made in real time. Listings in a campaign will be eligible to begin surfacing again if you increase the daily budget of an out-of-budget campaign.

    Note: If you update your daily budget below what has already been spent, your ads will stop serving and your new daily budget will go into effect the next day.

  • Is there a minimum and maximum daily budget for Promoted Listings Advanced?

    Yes. There is a $1.00 minimum and a $1,000,000 maximum daily budget.

  • What is an ad group?

    Ad groups help you build more effective campaigns by organizing your listings to a common goal or category. Grouping together similar listings allows you to target them with the same set of keywords.

    For example, you might want to create an ad group containing men’s sneakers that you would like to promote for Father’s Day.

  • What are suggested keywords?

    Suggested keywords are search terms that we’ve determined are relevant and likely to perform well in your ad group.

    We evaluate keywords based on how frequently they’ve been used in recent searches and how relevant those searches are to the listings in your ad group. These keyword suggestions are designed to help you target buyers who are actively looking for items like yours.

  • What is the suggested bid and the bid range?

    Our suggested bids and bid ranges are based on a number of factors, including past performance, competition, and marketplace trends. Using the suggested bids and bid ranges can help take the guesswork out of setting competitive bids.

    Suggested bids and bid ranges can change over time, so we suggest monitoring your campaign performance and making any needed changes to remain competitive.

  • Is there a minimum and maximum bid for keywords?

    Yes. There is a $0.02 minimum and $100 maximum.

  • How do I choose which keywords to use?

    Suggested keywords are available for most listings. These are keywords that we think are relevant and will likely perform well for the listings in your ad group based on past performance.

    You can also include your own selection of keywords. When adding your own keywords, keep in mind your item title and the search terms that you think buyers will use to search for your listings.

    Monitor your keyword performance by downloading keyword-level reports for each campaign. Remove any low-performing keywords and replace them with new suggested keywords to further optimize your campaign.

  • My Advanced campaign performance has been increasing or decreasing even though I haven’t made any changes. Why is this happening?

    The eBay Marketplace is a dynamic environment. A number of factors can cause an increase or decrease in your campaigns’ visibility, clicks, or sales, including buyer traffic or demand, seasonality, changes to the competitive landscape, general platform changes, and more.

  • How can I improve the performance of my ads?

    Our reporting and guidance is designed to make it easy for you to optimize your campaigns.

    Selecting the right keywords, setting competitive bids on keywords, and improving listing quality may increase the chances of your ads performing well.

    Follow these best practices to improve item quality and relevancy:

    • Write a clear and concise title with correct spelling and no more than 80 characters.
    • Add an accurate description, using product details from the eBay catalog wherever you can.
    • Use high-quality photos, taken from every angle, and show any flaws or scratches. You can include up to 12 pictures for free.
    • Add item specifics, such as make, model, size, color, and style.

    Using suggested keywords and suggested bids may increase your chances of winning the top slot on the search results page. We recommend using these suggestions as a starting point.

  • What are general best practices I should be following to make the most out of my Advanced campaigns?

    Create strategic ad groups

    • We recommend building effective ad groups by organizing your listings according to a common goal or category. Grouping together similar listings allows you to target them with the same set of keywords.

    Use suggested keywords

    • Suggested keywords are search terms that we’ve determined are relevant and likely to perform well in your campaign. We evaluate keywords based on how frequently they’ve been used in recent searches and how relevant those searches are to the listings in your ad group. These keyword suggestions are designed to help you target buyers who are actively looking for items like yours. For best results, add at least 10 keywords per unique product type in each ad group.

    Bid competitively

    • To help optimize campaigns, we provide you with suggested bids and bid ranges for all suggested keywords. Because Advanced campaigns are based on a cost-per-click model, you get to choose how much each click is worth to you.
    • Our suggested bids and bid ranges are based on a number of factors, including past performance and marketplace trends. Using the suggested bids and bid ranges can help take the guesswork out of setting competitive bids.

    Continue to optimize your campaigns

    • Keep an eye on your campaign performance to ensure your ad groups remain effective. Suggested keywords and bids can change over time, so we suggest monitoring your campaign performance and making any needed changes to remain competitive.


Reporting and billing FAQs

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  • Will I always be charged my full daily budget?

    No. You will only be charged when your ad is clicked. Any unused daily budget will not roll over to the next day.

    For example, if your daily budget is $100, your average cost per click is $1, and your ad is clicked 40 times in one day, you will be charged $40 for that day. The next day, your daily budget will still be $100, since unused daily budget will not roll over.

  • How will sales be attributed to my Promoted Listings Advanced ads?

    Sales will be attributed within a 30-day window of a click on your ad.

  • How is my Advanced ad fee determined?

    You choose how much you want to spend by setting a maximum daily budget, selecting keywords, and setting a bid for each keyword.

    You will be charged for all valid clicks on your Advanced ads. The cost for each click is based on a second-price auction, which means the fee charged will be determined by factors like listing quality, keyword relevance, your bid amount, other sellers’ bids, and a reserve price (the minimum amount we’ve determined a click is worth, taking item quality, competition, seasonality, and marketplace thresholds into consideration).

    • For example, if Seller A had the highest bid at $3.00 and Seller B had the second-highest bid at $1.50, and both items are of equal quality, Seller A wins the auction. The amount that Seller A will pay per click will be between $1.50 and $3.00, but will never be more than $3.00.
  • How will I see charges for my Advanced campaigns?

    We combine all clicks a seller receives on a Promoted Listings Advanced ad in a given campaign on a daily basis and sellers are generally charged for these clicks up to 72 hours after the clicks take place.

    Your charges are reported at a listing level. From your Payments tab or invoice, you’ll see the campaign ID, click date, total number of clicks, and average cost-per-click per listing.

  • How does eBay handle invalid traffic? Who should I contact if I suspect invalid traffic?

    Promoted Listings Advanced traffic is screened by our proprietary detection software, which is designed to help filter invalid traffic in real time.

    Suspicious traffic that is reported by sellers or partners is eligible for manual review by our team of traffic experts.

    In the event manual review detects invalid traffic, a credit will be processed within 1 - 4 weeks.

    Note: Campaign reports can take up to 72 hours to reconcile.

  • Can I be charged for multiple clicks made by the same buyer?

    Potentially yes, unless our click filtering systems detect suspicious activity. In some cases, buyers may revisit the same item multiple times before completing their purchase. However, please note that we have proprietary detection software in place designed to filter out invalid clicks with abnormal patterns, including bots, malicious clicks, or accidental clicks. If clicks on the ad are identified as invalid, the clicks will not be charged.

  • Will my Promoted Listings Advanced campaign details be updated in real time?

    Campaign name, Status, Start and End date, and listings are updated in real time, as those events are happening.

    Performance metrics are reported in near-real time and may take up to 72 hours to reconcile.

  • How do I download reports for my Advanced campaigns?

    From your advertising dashboard, select “Promoted Listings Advanced” from the “Campaign type” dropdown menu.

    Go to the campaign grid at the bottom of the page and expand the menu next to “Edit” to click on “Generate listing report,” “Generate keyword report,” or “Generate search query report.”

  • What report types will be available for my Promoted Listings Advanced campaigns?

    You will be able to download search query, keyword-level and listing-level reports for each of your Advanced campaigns.

    You can also navigate to your Advertising dashboard to view campaign-level performance.

  • Why isn’t there any data in my downloaded reports?

    After launching your campaign, allow up to 72 hours for some reporting metrics to appear in downloaded reports.

    Performance metrics are reported in near-real time and may take up to 72 hours to reconcile.

  • How do I find out how my campaigns are performing?

    For detailed metrics on how your campaigns are performing, go to your Advertising dashboard.

    From here you can monitor:

    • Impressions: The number of times your promoted listings have appeared across the eBay network.
    • Clicks: The number of times your ads were clicked.
    • Sold: The number of promoted items purchased within 30 days of a click on your Advanced ads.
    • Ad fees: The total amount of fees incurred by clicks on your Advanced ads.
    • Sales: The amount of sales generated by promoted items sold within 30 days of a click on your Advanced ads.
    • CTR (Click-through rate): Clicks divided by Impressions. The CTR is the percentage of times buyers saw your ad and clicked on it.
    • Sales conversion rate: Sold divided by Clicks. The sales conversion rate is the percentage of listings in Advanced campaigns that are purchased after the buyer has clicked on them.
  • How will I be charged for listings that are promoted via Promoted Listings Standard and Promoted Listings Advanced campaigns?

    Charges will be based on the campaign type the listing was participating in at the time of the click. You will always be charged for valid clicks on Advanced ads, but you will only be charged for attributed sales for Standard ads.

    • For example, Item A participates in both Advanced and Standard campaigns. It has an average CPC of $0.25 in the Advanced campaign and a 7% ad rate in the Standard campaign.
    • Item A wins the top slot in search via an Advanced ad and there are 5 clicks, which incurs $1.25 in fees through Promoted Listings Advanced.
    • The next day, Item A appears in a Promoted Listings Standard placement on a listing page. A buyer clicks the Standard ad and buys Item A for $100 within 30 days, so Item A accrues a $7.00 ad fee via Promoted Listings Standard.
    • In total Item A accrued a total of $8.25 in ad fees via both campaigns.
      • Note: Advanced ads will incur a charge each time they are clicked, regardless of the attributed sale.

    You can see which listings sold through each campaign by looking at the reports for your Advanced and Standard campaigns.

  • How will sales be attributed between my Standard and Advanced campaigns?

    We use a last click attribution model, meaning that the sale will be attributed to the click closest to the sale.

    Last click attribution is the industry standard and will ensure that a sale is only attributed once across Promoted Listings campaign types.

    • For example, if a listing is promoted in both a Standard and an Advanced campaign, a buyer may click on the Advanced ad and the Standard ad before purchasing the item. Once purchased, the sale will be attributed to whichever ad was last clicked before the buyer made the purchase.
    • Note: Advanced ads will always be charged for a click, regardless of an attributed sale. Standard ads will only be charged for an attributed sale.
  • Where can I see charges for my Advanced campaigns?

    The fees that a listing incurs while participating in Advanced campaigns will appear as “Ad Fee Advanced” in your Payments tab or on your seller invoice.

  • Will my campaign start and end dates be in my local time zone?

    Campaign details and reporting will be in the time zone for the site your campaigns were created in.

    The U.S. site aligns to the Pacific time zone.



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