eBay
  • Daily Deals
  • Sell
  • Customer Support
  • Shop now
  Home > Help >Selling & seller fees>Using selling tools>Selling Manager and Selling Manager Pro>Updating your inventory
Help
Search the help pages 
(Does not search for items or products)
 SearchTips
Selling Manager Pro:  Updating your inventory
In this article
In this article


You use the Inventory view in Selling Manager Pro to track the products you sell and the listing templates you use to sell them. Once you've created some products and listing templates, you might need to periodically update or reorganize your inventory.

Updating product information

Every product in your inventory has a name, which does not need to be unique.

In addition to the product name, we recommend that you add the other optional information so that Selling Manager Pro can provide you with valuable sales statistics, including average selling price and success ratio.

To update a product:
  1. In the Inventory view, click the name of the product you want to update.

  2. If youv'e created products with variations, click the Variation details button to expand the list of variations for your product.

  3. On the Product page, enter your changes.

  4. Click the Save button at the bottom of the page.

The following table describes the fields that you can update.

Field

Description

Product name

Any name you want to give to the product. For example: "Giant Beach Ball." This name doesn't appear to the buyer.

Custom label

Any unique label you want to assign to the product, such as the product's SKU or other number.

Average unit cost

The average amount that it costs for you to buy or make the item, known as the cost of materials. If you have other costs, such as labor or handling time, you should consult an accountant for advice on how to handle your unit cost.

If you change Average Unit Cost, all scheduled listings and future listings for this product will reflect this new value. Active and sold listings that were launched prior to your update reflect the previous average unit cost in your Selling Manager Pro sales report.

Quantity available to list

The number of items you have available to list. If you don't want to track your inventory quantity, leave the field empty (do not enter "0").

If you change the value in the Quantity Available to List field, the value of Total On Hand is automatically recalculated. Learn more about tracking inventory quantity.

Restock alert

You can set an alert if the inventory quantity falls below the level you specify. Note that the option to set an alert appears only if you've previously entered and saved the Quantity available to list.

Notes

Any notes you want to add, such as vendor information.

Updating listing templates

If you've associated listing templates with a product, you'll see them listed below the product name in the Inventory view.

Listing templates can be changed individually or in bulk. Bulk edits can be useful when you want to make the same changes to a group of listing templates, such as changes to your return policy or accepted payment methods.

To revise one or more listing templates for a product:
  1. In the Inventory view, click the product name.

  2. Select the check boxes next to the templates you want to revise and click the Edit template button.

  3. Click the Submit all button to have your changes become active on the site.

Deleting products and listing templates

Once you delete a product or listing template, it cannot be recovered. If you delete a product, the product and all of its listing templates are deleted from inventory.

To delete a product:
  1. In the Inventory view, select the product you want to delete.

  2. Select Delete from the Select Action drop-down menu at the bottom of the page, and then click the Go button.

To delete a listing template:
  1. In the Inventory view, click the name of the product.

  2. Select the template you want to delete.

  3. Select Delete from the Select Action drop-down menu at the bottom of the page, and then click the Go button.

Moving products and listing templates

You can rearrange your inventory by moving a product to a different folder or moving a listing template to a different product.

When you move a listing template, you can move the template to an existing product or create a new product.

To move a product and its templates to a different folder:
  1. In the Inventory view, select the product you want to move.

  2. Select Move from the Select Action drop-down menu at the bottom of the page, and then click the Go button.

  3. Select a new folder for the product.

  4. Click the Move button.

To move a listing template to a different product:
  1. In the Inventory view, click the name of the product.

  2. Select the template you want to move.

  3. Click the Move template button.

  4. Choose whether you want to create a new product for the listing template, or select an existing product.

  5. Click the Move to Inventory button.

Creating and managing folders

Your inventory consists of products and listing templates, which can be organized into multiple folders. Everyone starts with one inventory folder, but you can create more folders to help organize your inventory.

For example, you might create folders for the different types of items you sell, such as:

  • Movies

  • Books

  • Art

If you need to further subdivide your inventory, you can create subfolders.  For example, the "Books" folder could be subdivided into subfolders such as "Non-fiction books," "Fiction books," and so on.

To switch to a different folder in your Inventory view:
  1. Select the folder from the Folder drop-down menu at the top of the page.

  2. Click the Go button.

To create new folders or make changes to your existing folders:
  1. Click the Manage Folders link to the right of the Folder drop-down menu.

  2. Use the buttons at the top or bottom of the page to make your changes.

If you want to…

Do this…

Create a new folder

  1. Click the Add Folder button.

Rename a folder

  1. Select the folder you want to rename.

  2. Click the Edit button.

Delete a folder

  1. Select the folder you want to delete.

  2. Click the Delete button.

Move a folder to another location

  1. Select the folder you want to move.

  2. Click the Move button.

  3. Select a new location of the folder.

The folder will become a subfolder of the folder you select.

Contact Customer Support
If you're looking for more help or have a question to ask, please contact us.
Contact us

Have a question? We can help.

 Contact us

Ask eBay members

Get help from other eBay members. Visit the Answer Center to post a question.