eBay
  • Daily Deals
  • Sell
  • Customer Support
  • Shop now
  Home > Help >Selling & seller fees>Using selling tools>Selling Manager and Selling Manager Pro>Selling products and automating your sales
Help
Search the help pages 
(Does not search for items or products)
 SearchTips
Selling Manager Pro: Selling products and automating your sales
In this article
In this article


Once you've set up inventory in Selling Manager Pro, you can sell products using any of the listing templates you created. Using your stored listing templates, you can:

  • List items as needed

  • Automate your sales by choosing when to list or relist items

Listing products

To list products, you select the products you want to sell and then choose the listing templates you want to use for each product.

A new listing will be created for each listing template that you select.

To list products:
  1. In the Inventory view, select the checkboxes next to the products you want to list.

  2. Click the Sell Again button located at the top or bottom of the page.

    Tip: If you can’t find the Sell Again button in the Inventory view, you may need to scroll to the right of the page.

  3. When you are ready, click the Submit all button to have your listings become active on the site.

How listing automation works

Selling Manager Pro lets you automate your listings by choosing when a specific listing template should be used to list or relist a product.

Automating your sales can save you time, especially if:

  • You have several identical items to sell

  • You want to list your items according to a schedule

  • You want to relist items automatically

The following table describes the automation rules that you can choose from and when you might want to use them.

Automation rule

How the rule works

Keep a fixed number of listings active

If you have several identical items to sell, you might want to keep a certain number of listings active on the site. For example, if you have 50 t-shirts in inventory, you might want to have 5 t-shirts listed on the site at one time.

When a listing ends, Selling Manager Pro automatically replaces the listing. To stagger your listings, you can choose to space out multiple listings over time.

List according to your schedule

You select how often you want to create a new listing (for example, every week or 2 weeks) and what day and time the listing should be created.

New listings are created according to the schedule you set, regardless of whether the previously listings sold.

Relist once if an item doesn't sell

If the listing doesn't sell the first time, Selling Manager Pro automatically relists it for you one time.

After the first relisting, you'll need to manually list or relist the product again.

Relist in your Store if an item does not sell

If the listing doesn't sell the first time, Selling Manager Pro automatically lists it in your Store.

Relist continuously until an item sells

If the listing doesn't sell, Selling Manager Pro automatically relists it. The item is relisted continuously, until it sells or until you remove the automation rule. 

Relist continuously whether it sells or doesn't sell

When the listing ends, Selling Manager Pro automatically relists it regardless of whether the previous listing sold. The item is relisted continuously, until you remove the automation rule. 

Note: If you choose one of the options to relist continuously, Selling Manager Pro will alternate between "relist" and "sell similar" to maximize the number of times that you're eligible for a free relist credit.

Assigning automation rules to your listing templates

You can assign a different automation rule to each listing template. Once you assign an automation rule to a listing template, the rule is active until you change or remove it.

To automate your listings for a product, you follow 2 basic steps:

  • Select the listing template you want to use.

  • Assign an automation rule to the listing template.

Note: When an item is listed or relisted automatically, regular listing and relisting fees apply.

To assign an automation rule to a listing template:
  1. Display the Inventory view in Selling Manager Pro.

  2. Click the name of the product.

  3. Select the checkbox next to the listing template you want to use.

  4. Select Assign Automation Rules from the Select Action drop-down menu.

  5. Select the rule you want to apply from the drop-down menu.

  6. Specify your rule settings.

    Tip: If you're listing according to a schedule or relisting continuously, you might want to select the option to disable the rule when your inventory equals a specified amount. This will help prevent you from accidentally listing items that are out of stock.

  7. Click the Assign button.

Updating or removing an automation rule

Once you assign an automation rule to a listing template, the rule is active until you change or remove it.

To change or remove an automation rule, you'll need to update the listing template and any existing listings that you've created.

  • Updating the listing template: Changes you make to a listing template apply to any future listings created with the template.

  • Updating existing listings: If you've created one or more listings from the listing template, you'll also need to update the automation rules for these listings in the Scheduled or Active view.


To edit or remove a rule from a listing template:
  1. Locate the product in the Inventory view.

  2. Review the listing templates that you've created for the product.

    If a listing template has an automation rule assigned, the name of the rule appears to the right of it.

    Tip: If you don't see the automation rule, you might need to scroll to the right of the page.

  3. Click the automation rule you want to revise.

  4. Make your changes.

    • You can change the options you selected for the rule or choose a different automation rule from the drop-down menu at the top of the page.

    • To remove the automation rule, select No rule from the drop-down menu.

  5. Click the Assign button at the bottom of the page.

To edit or remove a rule from a listing:
  1. Locate the listing in the Scheduled or Active view.

  2. From the Action drop-down menu, select Edit Automation Rules or Remove Automation Rules.

Suspending your automated listings

You can suspend all automation rules without editing each one individually. This is useful when you're going on vacation or will be unable to attend to your listings.

To suspend automation rules:
  1. In the Automation Preferences view , locate the Listing Automation Schedule section.

  2. Select the Suspend my items from being automatically listed and relisted option.

  3. Specify the range of dates during which you want your automatic listings to stop.

  4. Click the Apply button.

Contact Customer Support
If you're looking for more help or have a question to ask, please contact us.
Contact us

Have a question? We can help.

 Contact us

Ask eBay members

Get help from other eBay members. Visit the Answer Center to post a question.